Batblog 2016 wrap up and Merry Batsmas / Happy New Year to All

Batman by Rodrigo Idalino.jpg

2016 has been a slow year for me on this blog.

I didn’t get as many articles finished as I wanted.

Heck – I didn’t even get around to starting my in depth look at the timeless classic Batman: The Animated Series and the fan favourite Arkham Asylum video games. Which means they get pushed back to 2017.

I did however get my Q&A Article up on The Heroine’s Journey, with some brilliant writers, and if you missed it, well click the blue bit. Part#2 of The Heroine’s Journey will be up soon in the new year, and it covers my ideas and theories on the the topics discussed in the Q&A.

TURN THAT FROWN UPSIDE DOWN BATS!

If that article seems a little out of place here, well all I can say is that I have a bunch of similar stuff in draft form that ties in with it, and most of that content has been put off for over a year until I can make sense of it all, and when they are up, they will get their own special click tabby thing on the top menu bar, next to the “About” and “HTBLT” tabs – what do you call that thing anyway? I don’t know.

Also coming in 2017 will be more chapters of #HTBLB – How to Be Like Batman series. I have several already in the draft stages, and the titles/topics planned out for the entire article series.

Not only that, but by the end of 2017 I will have two Batman ebooks completed – the main one being the full #HTBLB series with no doubt some bonus essays thrown in there, and a couple just for the book that will not appear elsewhere. People have asked repeatedly for it, both here on Quora and on other sites, so it is in the works!

 

HOO-HOO! I WON’T KILL YOU BECAUSE YOU ARE TOO MUCH FUN!

As well as finishing off those #HTBLB articles, I’ll be taking a look the Batman All Stars – the creators, writers, artists and other movers and shakers who have helped make Batman great over the decades.

Another new article series I am pretty excited about in 2017 is the Symbolism of Batman series, in which I cherry pick the  greatest works from all media in Batman’s history and dive into the symbolism and motifs in those works.

bat_in_blue_by_saintyak-d9gwzax

Each article will be able to read by itself as a single unit, on that particular piece of Batman fiction. For example one article will cover all three of Chris Nolan’s Batman films, another will be on The Killing Joke, another on Morrison’s Arkham Asylum and one on The Dark Knight Returns etc, and by juxtaposing different representations of Batman in different media, anyone who reads them all will see the patterns and recurring ideas, themes and motifs that might not be obvious to the casual reader.

I’ll explore some similar ideas to those already laid out in two of my favourite articles The Darkness in Humanity – Batman as Avatar of our Shadow Self and Batman’s Joker as Mythic Archetype as well as expand on ideas in those articles.

 

BORING BORING BORING! WHEN WILL HE PUNCH SOME THINGS?

Or you can just read any one of the Symbolism of Batman articles and ignore the others. I hope you enjoy them, and get at least a *little* bit as excited as I am to write them.

Another idea I’ve been thinking about for a while is to do some  essays on my other favourite comic book characters, perhaps in their own Super Secret Section of the site? Lest they start a war? Because the essays I’m hanging out to write are about my favourites Wolverine, The Punisher and perhaps Marvel’s greatest character – the ever lovin’ blue eyed Thing.

wolverine-punisher-thing

Stick around BatFans – plenty more articles to come in 2017. I may even finish some of those 100 draft articles that are laying around the Mancave. Hmm, wait a minute – I was never good at math, let’s see now.

batblog number of drafts.jpg

Okay so it’s 147 Drafts, and I have just given away two of my other upcoming article titles. Yes Harley Quinn is getting one of those long ass articles where I really get into the character, her history, motivation, success, fashion sense……..and how awesome was Margot Robbie in Suicide Squad? The movie had some issues, but damn it was fun and she knocked it out of the fucking park, bring on Gotham Sirens people! (The 90’s comics starring Catwoman, Poison Ivy and Harley Quinn that has now been announced officially as an upcoming movie project).

 

I THINK YOU AND I ARE DESTINED TO DO THIS FOREVER BATS!

Okay, so there is all that content coming, as well as no doubt I will conceive of entirely new ideas yet to enter my imagination. I love those articles the best! That’s how my Batitude short form article was born, and of course Batitude 2.0

Those Batitude articles were born on a whim, a slight impulse that lead to writing more of the same and embracing The Way of the Bat in 2016, and thank you to everyone in 2016 who stopped by this blog, I hope that you found something to enjoy here, granted my tastes are not for everyone, but for those few do enjoy any of my ramblings…

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

 

batface_by_saintyak-da6g73l

**

The top image in this post is by Rodrigo Idalino, I just LOVE his art, you can find more at http://rod-windt.deviantart.com/

The other images in this post are by the fantastic Saintyak, you can find more at DeviantART http://saintyak.deviantart.com/ – I particularly love his TMNT and Batman related art. Spectacular stuff, take a look already!

 

2 thoughts on “Batblog 2016 wrap up and Merry Batsmas / Happy New Year to All

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.